Welcome to Venus Clinic, Kyiv!
Open hours
9:00 - 20:00 | Mon - Fri
10:00 - 20:00 | Sat - Sun
Contact phone(044) 537 0806
Send WhatsappSend TelegramSend Viber
Book Appointment
Hair removal history

The history of hair removal: from ancient depilation to laser hair removal today

The history of hair removal from hair removal in ancient times to modern laser hair removal today.

Hair removal in prehistoric times

Epilation(from French epiler- "remove hair") - a method of permanent hair removal, when the hair follicle is destroyed by physical or chemical means and after the procedure, hair growth stops forever.

The clam shell was used for hair removal
A clam shell, like tweezers, has been used for depilation since prehistoric times.

Oddly enough it sounds, but already cavemen used tools for depilation. Ancient people used shellfish to remove unwanted hair. They were used as tweezers, grabbing the hair with sharp and perfectly fitting edges. Thus, it was convenient to pull out the hairs. A silicon scraper with a sharp razor blade was used to cut hair. Therefore, the history of hair removal can be traced back to ancient times.

4000- 3000 BC. They practiced removing unwanted hair using a prototype of modern shugaring - hair removal with a thick sugar syrup, known today as depilation (from the Latin for "complete hair removal").

More than 3000 years ago, a razor and a mirror were an indispensable attribute of a well-to-do person. The social norms of ancient Egypt obliged women to remove unwanted hair from their bodies. The unbearable heat forced the Egyptians to remove hair from the head of men as well as women. During the excavation, razors for hair removal are found.

Depilationis a method of temporary hair removal from the skin surface: shaving, wax depilation, hair pulling, etc. After a while, hair growth will resume.

hair removal - razor and mirror in ancient excavations
Razor and mirror, a common attribute in excavation.

The Greeks believed that clean-shaven skin was a sign of a civilized person. Fire was used for depilation.

The first shave in Rome was carried out by boys with the onset of maturity. Julius Caesar removed unwanted facial hair by pulling.

Thread Depilation

The technique of removing unwanted hair by pulling came from the Arab countries. For this, two intertwined threads were used, which were pulled over the fingers and quickly shifted them relative to one another. The threads grabbed the hair rising above the surface of the skin and quickly pulled it out.

threading with threads
Threading - threading has its roots in ancient times.

XV century

Elizabeth 1
Elizabeth I was the standard of female beauty. Mimicking her high hairline, the women removed facial hair.

Elizabeth I gave impetus to the development of the culture of facial hair depilation. In order to have a high forehead, women plucked hair from their foreheads during the time of Elizabeth I in the middle of the 15th century. Mothers used various compresses to prevent hair growth on the forehead in their children.

XVIII century

At the beginning of the 18th century, a paste made of lime, a caustic substance made from limestone or shell rock, was used to prepare depilatory products at home. When mixed with water, it forms a caustic mixture that burns out hair.

In the 1700s, women in North America used caustic soda to burn off hair. Native Americans, on the other hand, removed their hair by pulling it out one by one using two sinks, as described above. A notable genetic trait of the Indians is that they do not have facial hair.

The first safety razor

A safety razor was patented by a French cutter in 1762.

Depilatory Powder

In the USA, in 1844, the first powder depilatory products went on sale. The boom in piston depilatory products came in the 1920s at the height of advertising campaigns accompanying advertisements for open clothing.

First methods of hair removal

Sulfuric acid

For this at the end of the 9th century in bows the hair was injected with sulfuric acid with a fine needle. This technique led to permanent cessation of hair growth, but did not gain widespread use due to pain and a high risk of scarring.

Electrolysis - a breakthrough in hair removal

Electrolysis was first used in 1875 to remove problematic growing eyelashes and in the 90s it became one of the safest methods of hair removal. The widespread success of this technique was hampered by the long duration and painfulness of the procedure.

Revolution in depilation - disposable blades

In 1903, disposable blades were introduced, making shaving easier and more popular.

Leg hair removal boom in the 20s

Milady Décolleté Gillette's first safe depilatory machine for women
Harper's Bazaar, 1915. Advertisement for Milady Décolleté Gillette's first safe depilatory machine for women.

The trend of the 20s of the last century was the removal of hair on the legs and in the armpits. This was due to new trends in fashion for clothes with bare shoulders and legs.

Harper's Bazaar in 1914 published the first advertising article on hair removal on legs and arms. In 1915, the same publication launched the first advertising campaign to remove unwanted armpit hair with the Milady Décolleté Gillette women's safe machine. One of the prerequisites for the visualization of the campaign was the demonstration of the beauty of open arms and clean-shaven armpits.

The first epilation machines

With the development of science and technology, the first devices for permanent removal of unwanted hair - epilation - began to appear. The American Tricho System used X-rays for hair removal, acne and other dermatological problems. The technique has been gaining popularity since 1910.

In 1925, X-ray hair removal was awarded a gold medal in Paris.

Harper's Bazaar, 1915. Advertisement for Milady Décolleté Gillette's first safe depilation machine for women.
1927, Tricho System. British advertisement featuring actress Ann Pennington [1893-1971] as a model. The premise is that your face, armpits and legs should be epilated.

The epilation procedure lasted only 4 minutes with repeated sessions once a week for several months. The course was stopped when a complete cessation of hair growth was achieved. Skin ulceration, wrinkles, skin cancer, etc. were common complications. Hair removal salons were opened in Europe, Canada and the USA. Due to the large number of side effects, this technique was banned in the United States in the 40s.

Electric Shavers

1931 gave the world an electric shaver.

In the 40s, innovations such as abrasive depilation appeared, similar to modern microdermabrasion.

50th Twizers

In the late 50s, tweeters appeared that automatically pulled out hairs. This was a breakthrough in depilatory techniques as, compared to shaving, plucking with a tweezer had a longer lasting effect of stopping hair growth. Which was a big advantage over shaving.

60s Wax depilation appeared

Based on the sugaring technique, wax depilation appeared.

70s Disposable Machines

The world's first disposable shaving machine for women is born.

80s hot wax

Hot wax depilation appeared in Australia as a modified variation of sugaring.

Laser Hair Removal

The first operational laser was designed in 1961 by Theodore Maiman. Leon Goldman pioneered the use of the ruby ​​laser for tattoo removal. He noticed that the hair at the site of tattoo removal stops growing.

In 1964, the FDA approved a neodymium laser for laser hair removal. The first lasers for hair removal had insufficient power, so a large number of procedures were required for several years before hair growth stopped. Some progress was made in 1983, when lasers with controlled pulse duration appeared, which made the effect on the hair more selective than the surrounding tissues. The explosive growth of laser hair removal technology began in the 90s, when the first diode lasers for hair removal and IPL systems for photoepilation appeared.

Home photoepilators

Technology has gone so far that anyone can purchase a compact IPL system for home hair removal.

Home Hair Removal Laser

The first Tria Laser 4x home laser went on sale in Japan in 2005. FDA approved the first home laser in the United States in 2008.

Tria Laser is a home hair removal laser approved by the FDA in 2008.
Tria Laser is the first home hair removal laser approved by the FDA in 2008.

Home photoepilators and lasers cannot develop enough power for high-quality procedures for all types of skin and hair.

Modern lasers for hair removal

Our clinic uses a Leaseir diode laser capable of developing an output power of up to 6000 W, which is an absolute record. High power ensures the quality and speed of the procedure, and the cooling of the sapphire crystal to 0 ° C guarantees the safety and comfort of the procedure.

More details in the section "Laser hair removal"

Diode laser for hair removal
Leaseir diode laser for high power hair removal.

You should also read

Добро пожаловать в Venus Clinic, Киев!
Время работы
9:00 - 20:00 | пн - пт
10:00 - 20:00 | сб - вс
Телефон
(044) 537 0806
Запись онлайн
История эпиляции

История от депиляции древности до лазерной эпиляции сегодня

История эпиляции от удаления волос в древности до современной лазерной эпиляции в наши дни.

Удаление волос в доисторические времена

Эпиляция (от французского epiler — «удалять волосы») – метод перманентного удаления волос, когда физическим или химическим способом разрушается луковица волоса и после процедуры рост волос прекращается навсегда.

Раковина моллюска использовалась для эпиляции
Раковина моллюска, подобно пинцету, использовалась для депиляции с доисторических времен.

Как это ни странно странно звучит, но уже пещерные люди использовали инструменты для депиляции. Для удаления нежелательных волос древние люди применяли раковины морских моллюсков. Их использовали в качестве пинцета, захватывая волос острыми и идеально прилегающими краями. Таким образом было удобно выдергивать волосики. Скребок из кремния с острием, подобно лезвию опасной бритвы использовали для срезания волос.

4000- 3000 лет до нашей эры. Практиковали удаление нежелательных волос при помощи прототипа современного шугаринга - удаления волос густым сахарным сиропом, известного сегодня, как депиляция (от лат. "полное удаление волос").

Более 3000 лет назад бритва и зеркало были обязательным атрибутом зажиточного человека. Социальные нормы Древнего Египта обязывали женщин удалять нежелательные волосы на своем теле. Невыносимая жара заставляла египтян удалять волосы на голове у мужчин, а также у женщин. Во время раскопок находят бритвы для удаления волос.

Депиляция – метод временного удаления волос с поверхности кожи: бритье, восковая депиляция, выдергивание волос и т.п. Через некоторое время рост волос возобновляется.

История эпиляции - бритва и зеркало в раскопках древности
Бритва и зеркало, частый атрибут в истории при раскопках.

Греки считали, что гладко выбритая кожа является признаком цивилизованного человека. С целью депиляции использовали огонь.

Первое бритье в Риме проводили мальчикам с наступлением зрелости. Юлий Цезарь удалял нежелательные волосы на лице с помощью выдергивания.

Депиляция нитями

Методика удаления нежелательных волос путем выдергивания пришла из Арабских стран. Для этого использовали две переплетенные нити, которые натягивали на пальцы рук и быстро смещали их одна относительно другой. Нити захватывали волос, возвышающийся над поверхностью кожи и быстро выдергивали его.

threading депиляция нитями
Threading - депиляция нитями берет свое начало с древних времен.

XV столетие

Елизавета 1
Елизавета I была эталоном женской красоты. Подражая ее высокой линии роста волос, женщины удаляли волосы на лице.

Елизавета I дала толчок развитию культуры депиляции волос на лице. Чтобы иметь высокий лоб, женщины выдергивали на лбу волосы во времена Елизаветы I в середине XV столетия. Матери использовали различные компрессы для предотвращения роста волос на лбу у своих детей.

XVIII столетие

В начале XVIII столетия для приготовления депилирующих средств в домашних условиях использовали пасту из извести, едкую субстанцию из известняка или ракушечника. При смешивании с водой образуется едкая смесь, которая выжигала волосы.

В 1700-х годах женщины Северной Америки использовали примочки каустической соды для выжигания волос. Коренные же Американцы удаляли волосы путем выдергивания их одного за одним при помощи двух раковин, как это описано выше. Примечательной генетической особенностью индейцев является то у них отсутствуют волосы на лице.

Первая безопасная бритва

В 1762 году французским ножовщиком была запатентована безопасная бритва.

Порошок для депиляции

В США в 1844 году первые порошковые средства для депиляции поступили в продажу. Бум на порошковые средства для депиляции пришелся на 20-годы прошлого столетия в разгар рекламных кампаний, сопутствующих рекламе открытой одежды.

Первые методы удаления волос

Серная кислота

Для этого в конце IX века в луковицу волоса вводили серную кислоту тонкой иглой. Эта методика приводила к прекращению роста волос навсегда, но не приобрела широкого применения из-за болезненности и высокого риска рубцевания.

Электроэпиляция

Электроэпиляция впервые была применена в 1875 году для удаления проблемно растущих ресниц и в 90-х годах стала одной из самых безопасных методик удаления волос. Широкому успеху этой методики препятствовала большая длительность и болезненность процедуры.

Революция в депиляции – одноразовые лезвия

В 1903 году появились одноразовые лезвия, что упростило бритье и увеличило его популярность.

Бум удаления волос на ногах в 20-х

реклама первого безопасного станка для депиляции для женщин Milady Décolleté Gillette
Harper’s Bazaar, 1915 год. Реклама первого безопасного станка для депиляции для женщин Milady Décolleté Gillette.

Трендом 20-х годов прошлого века стало удаление волос на ногах и в подмышечных ямках. Это было связано с ново веяниями в моде на одежду с открытыми плечами и ногами.

Harper’s Bazaar в 1914 году опубликовала первую рекламную статью об удалении волос на ногах и руках. В 1915 году в этом же издании была запущена первая рекламная кампания по удалению нежелательных волос в подмышечных ямках безопасным женским станком Milady Décolleté Gillette. Одним из обязательных условий визуализации кампании была демонстрация красоты открытых рук и гладко выбритых подмышечных ямок.

Первые аппараты для удаления волос

С развитием науки и технологий стали появляться первые аппараты для удаления нежелательных волос на длительный срок. Американская система Tricho System использовала рентгеновское излучение для удаления волос, лечения акне и других дерматологических проблем. Методика набирала популярность с 1910 года.

В 1925 году методика удаления волос рентгеновским излучением получила золотую медаль в Париже.

Harper’s Bazaar, 1915 год. Реклама первого безопасного станка для депиляции для женщин Milady Décolleté Gillette.
1927 год, Tricho System. Британская реклама с участием актрисы Ann Pennington [1893-1971] в качестве модели. Посыл заключается в том, что ваше лицо, подмышки и ноги должны быть выбриты.

Эпиляция длилась всего 4 минуты с повторными сеансами 1 раз в неделю в течение нескольких месяцев. Курс прекращали при достижении полного прекращения роста волос. Нередкими осложнениями были изъязвления кожи, появление морщин, рака кожи и т.д. В Европе, Канаде и США открывались салоны удаления волос. Из-за большого количества побочных эффектов эта методика была запрещена в США в 40-х годах.

Электробритвы

1931 год подарил миру электробритву.

В 40-х годах появились такие новшества, как абразивная депиляция, подобно современной микродермабразии.

50-е Твизеры

В конце 50-х появились твизеры, которые автоматически выдергивали волоски. Это был прорыв в методиках депиляции, поскольку по сравнению с бритьем, выдергивание твизером давало более длительный эффект прекращения роста волос. Что являлось большим преимуществом по сравнению с бритьем.

60-е Появилась восковая депиляция

Базируясь на методике шугаринга, появилась восковая депиляция.

70-е Одноразовые станки

Появились первые в мире одноразовые станки для бритья для женщин.

80-е горячий воск

В Австралии появилась методика депиляции горячим воском, как доработанная вариация шугаринга.

Лазерное удаление волос

Первый действующий лазер был сконструирован в 1961 году Теодором Майманом. Leon Goldman впервые применил рубиновый лазер для удаления татуировок. Он обратил внимание, что волосы в месте удаления татуировок прекращают расти.

В 1964 году FDA одобрил неодимовый лазер для лазерной эпиляции. Первые лазеры для удаления волос имели недостаточную мощность поэтому требовалось большое количество процедур в течение нескольких лет до прекращения роста волос. Определенный прогресс был достигнут в 1983 году, когда появились лазеры с контролируемой длительность импульса, что делало воздействие на волос более селективным, по сравнению с окружающими тканями. Бурный рост лазерных технологий начался в 90-х, когда появились первые диодные лазеры для удаления волос и IPL системы для фотоэпиляции.

Домашние фотоэпиляторы

Технологии шагнули настолько далеко, что любой желающий может приобрести компактную IPL систему для удаления волос в домашних условиях.

Лазер для удаления волос в домашних условиях

В 2005 году в Японии поступил в продажу первый домашний лазер Tria Laser 4x, а в 2008 году FDA одобрило первый лазер для домашнего применения в США.

Tria Laser - лазер для эпиляции в домашних условиях, одобренный FDA в 2008 году.
Tria Laser - первый лазер для эпиляции в домашних условиях, одобренный FDA в 2008 году.

Домашние фотоэпиляторы и лазеры не могут развивать достаточной мощности для качественных процедур по всем типам кожи и волос. 

Современные лазеры для удаления волос

Для эпиляции нашей клинике используется диодный лазер Leaseir, способный развивать выходную мощность до 6000 Вт, что является абсолютным рекордом. Высокая мощность обеспечивает качество скорость процедуры, а охлаждение сапфирового кристалла до 0°С гарантирует безопасную и комфортную эпиляцию.

Больше про эпиляцию лазером читайте в разделе "Лазерная эпиляция"

Диодный лазер для эпиляции
Leaseir диодный лазер для эпиляции высокой мощности.

Вам будет интересно прочитать